Award-winning Author

Nancy Flinchbaugh 

Nancy Flinchbaugh is a Christian contemplative who writes as spiritual practice. Her books include the first two novels in the MAMs series Revelation in the Cave (2012) and Revelation at the Labyrinth (eLectio Publishing, 2017), in addition to a memoir, Letters from the Earth (Higher Ground Books and Media, 2018), and Awakening: A Contemplative Primer on Learning to Sit (Higher Ground Books and Media, 2020). Her latest novel in the MAMs series, Revelation in the Roots: Emerald Isle, will be published soon. She wrote the book to continue her life work of peacemaking and building bridges across racial and political divides. She enjoys nature, gardening, bicycling, traveling, leading contemplative experiences, public speaking, community building, and writing books with purpose. Nancy is a member of First Baptist church and mother of two wonderful sons, Luke and Jacob. She lives in Springfield, Ohio, empty nesting with her husband, Steve, and cat, Emily Rose. Learn more about her work at and Connect with her on Facebook at Nancy Flinchbaugh, Author.

Published Books

Award Winning

Happy Readers

By Nancy Flinchbaugh



For those seeking a spiritual deepening and a way to respond to the challenges of our time, this book offers a path close to the heart of God. A challenge to awaken unfolds through ten spiritual practices for the journey. Beginning with sitting meditation, the book explores myriad ways to enter the silence, including walking the labyrinth, engaging in sacred conversation, cultivating gratitude, divine reading (lectio divina) with sacred texts and nature, mindful eating, listening contemplatively throughout the day, participating in contemplative rituals and engaging in centered action. Drawing on her personal experience as a contemplative, the author offers a poem, a rationale and introduction for each practice. Included in these reflections are “Letters from the Earth” that the author has received about each practice.

Other Books

Revelation in the Cave

Join Katharine and the MAMs, her friends from the Magnificent and Marvelous Book Club. When their interest in ancient cave paintings leads them on an unexpected adventure, the women make a leap of faith, leaving their day-to-day lives behind, and travel to modern Turkey for an archaeological dig. They discover first century scrolls written by first century spiritual heroines. As the group dodges bullets, a religious fanatic and obstructive government officials, the scrolls are translated. One by one they lead each of the women to illumination in their personal lives while revealing an engaging story that calls out the teachings of Jesus and the book of Revelation.

Revelation at the Labyrinth

Join the Magnificent and Marvelous Book Club (the MAMs) on an adventure as they launch a re-entry organic farm for women in recovery. The ancient pilgrim path of the labyrinth leads them all through personal healing and redemption, while finding hope for the planet as they encounter the turmoil of domestic violence, addiction, cancer, and climate change. Thomaseena, a victim of domestic violence, is erroneously sentenced to prison for killing her husband in self-defense. When she is released from prison, Thomaseena moves into the MAMs’ re-entry organic farm and begins to reconnect with the earth, seeking healing, recovery and a new life path. Meanwhile, MAM Molly Mabra journeys with breast cancer. This lively story of love and transformation will keep you reading and thinking about possible ways to creatively build a future together.

Letters from the Earth

In May 2015, the Earth wrote me a letter and told me to start a blog! Since then, I received more letters from the Earth which are encouraging, uplifting, and challenging. During our growing ecological crisis, this book provides a fresh voice of Gaia/God, who calls us to slow down and take time to appreciate the miraculous nature of all, and to awaken to needed changes to avoid environmental destruction.

Coming Soon!

Coming late 2021

Revelation in the Roots: Emerald Isle


The Magnificent and Marvelous Book Club (the MAMs) return in this adventure of discovery to explore their Irish roots. The ancient spirits of a leprechaun, St. Brigid, and an African-American matriarch, Grand MaMa, conspire to awaken the travelers to possibilities. Watch a grieving, reluctant Abigail consider opening her heart to their jolly tour guide.  Welby, a Black ex-convict, and Reagan, a white nurse in recovery, find attraction, yet come from opposite ends of the political divide. While the entourage explores the Emerald Isle, pauses for listening circles, retreats at the well of St. Brigid, and gathers at a peace center in Northern Ireland, the story unfolds with much surprise and revelation as the characters find new hope for their own lives and America.

Schedule an Event

Contact Author